top of page
  • yummy mummy

Microwaving on Keto..why?




Now, now..this ought to have ruffled a few feathers right off of the get go. Science aside, this is 100% an opinion piece and I believe I provide a sound arguement for my case. I do not believe that anyone should use a microwave, for anything...ever!

Much research has been done on the subject and indeed there are seriously increased health risks that need to be considered with this form of "cooking" food, or rather radiating it. In my minds eye, along with the considerable research, I cannot see zapping the very things that we consume with radiation..it makes no logical sense to me, if you want to live a healthy life with a healthy body.


I am astonished by the amount of recipes and microwave instruction that I see surrounding keto to be truthful. It surprises me that peole would make such an amazing commitment to better their health and then would think of putting microwaved foods into their systems. To me it seems very counter-productive. I woud think that everyone would want to put the best quality, freshest, most amazing foods into the beautiful machine that is their bodies and work to eliminate everything that comprimises that vision.

Purely on the fact that microwaves destroys the nutrition of food should be enough of a reason to avoid letting this loose in your body. let along the other indications that it negatively impacts our body. Or perhaps looking at this highschool experiment done many years ago. This is just one of the pelthora of similar studies and experiments that have been done, all pointing to the adverse effects of radiation, even in small quantity (also done studying the radiation from cellphones, Wifi, alarm clocks and other radiation producing items that we keep near and dear to us).




For me, the choice started well before my keto days and as a family my children have never known a microwave (7 and 12 years old). My husband and I made this decision while we raised our adopted children )who are now grown) and based this on the way that we wanted to raise a family then and now with our girls, as well as the values that we would like to instill in them. It made no sense to us to teach our children that convenience outweighs your personal health, in any way! And so, waiting for food to cook in the oven or on the stovetop became our normal.


Again, I am speaking my and my familys truth and I am by no means attacking or belittling anyone who chooses to microwave..however, as a loving individual I would say to you what I would say to my closest loved ones, if you don't look after your person and treat it beautifully, if you want to live a wonderfully vibrant life, why do things that you know are not respecting your body, mind, soul and spirit? You need to love your self inside and out to live a long and abundant life, that is all that there is to it! :) I don't see this kind of vision by fueling your body with microwaved foods.


Now when it comes to keto and the keto lifestyle, there is a lot of work involved in preparing foods, cooking and baking, it can seem to be a bit daunting for most. The microwave seems like a fantastic and quick way to prepare your food, melt that cheese for your Fathead Dough, or soften butter for your keto cookies. This is the convenience that our world has bred in us, fast everything. But like fast foods, it is not the optimal way to achieve your health goals. Take the time to prepare and enjoy making the delicious foods that will help you accomplish your goals. Not to sound like a kooky hippie (though admitedly I totally am), but respect and honor your food. Even with the hungriest of belly's, I will wait the extra 5-10 minutes to know that I am doing right by my food and body!


I am not perfect by any stretch and I would never propose to be an expert on life. However, as an individual I work on bettering myself, my health and my mind daily (along with my hubby and incredible children) and for us this by far has been one of the best health decisions that we have made..keto or not!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2019 by Yummy Mummy's Keto Kravings. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page