top of page
  • yummy mummy

Keto Food Aversion


Bobbie Quinn - Thursday September 15, 2016

I did Paleo way back when, it is similar in many ways to keto with some overlap in stapple go to's in the food realm. I also distinctly remember how awful some of the recipes, textures and tastes were and I REALLY struggled. I constantly felt nauseated and had a serious lack of desire for food and cooking, two things that I genuinely enjoy (NOT GOOD!) Some food just didn't not sit, or smell well with me!


These were a few foods that I personally wish that I had introduced later in the plan:


1. Cloud Bread- Nope and nope! This recipe was the bain of my world during the Paleo years. The texture was not like bread, AT ALL and I was often very angry at that because I love great bread and in the beginning was seriously detoxing from that (complete with psychotic dreams about consuming tables full of bread). I feel fortunate that keto has many more options and recipes, like on this incredible blog ;), something that we did not have "back in the day" as my daughter says! lol


2. Shiritaki Noodles- I tried introducing these a bit into my journey, when I was still having food aversion and the smell would make me gag, and often barfing like I was nursing a serious hangover! It has a funky smell, particularly when you first open it, something that I do not mind now that I am familiar with it but not for the beginning!


3. Eggs for every breakfast- This was wrong on so many levels I don't know where to start. Let's go with the obvious, and perhaps not considered. In the beginning, your body does some horrible purging (I am not even going to try and front about that one), worse for some, better for others. Me, I was a combination of Foghorn Leghorn in the gas department and smell (oh lawd have mercy!), my burps smelled like burning tires, my breath like rotten peaches, I pooped like a baby on first pablum (yeah, you Mom's hear me on that one!) and my sweat was rancid...I was a treat for sure! This may not happen for everyone but I made sure to do the research before I wrote this, other people experience it too! Now, add a bunch of eggs to that...yeah, enough said!


4. Coconut Flour :as the predominant flour in recipes or in savory items- Now don't get me wrong, I love coconut, I do! I love it when I feel like it, which is not often on my end. Let me just say that a coconut flour cookie, donut or pancake most certainly DO NOT mimick the real deal..not even a little! There is a definite texture thing there for me (100%), a weird dryness factor and, respectfully, not everything should taste like coconut. I am a girl in need of variety! And savory on that front? Oh hell no! Not unless you are making an awesome curry, but let me tell you coconut and cheese have no business intermingling (worst "hamburger bun" EVER!) as it should not with many/most savory meals. Now the wiser, I much prefer psyllium husks and almond flour but be careful as pshyllium can bung you up like nobody's business!


5. Cauliflower as a regular staple- This is a tough one but for the same reasons as too many eggs, and again a textural/flavor-in-everything kind of way as well. I am a firm believer that many things should be enjoyed in moderation and this was most certainly the case with cauliflower.


Those were the tops non, no's on my list and again, like keto itself, does not apply to everyone!

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2019 by Yummy Mummy's Keto Kravings. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page