top of page
  • yummy mummy

What's the Deal? Is Quinoa Keto?



One of the things that I have been missing on my new keto journey is pasta, rice and my beloved quinoa. To answer the question, no unfortunately if you are eating a traditional keto diet, quinoa has far too many carbs to be added into your meals. Below is a link to a very informative piece, that explains why quinoa macros are simply just too high.


https://perfectketo.com/low-carb-quinoa-substitute/


So now what? Well, for me, I have found konjac to be my best option for these particular cravings. Konjac comes in a variety of mock "pasta" varieties and also in a "rice" form. The bonus is that it takes very little time to prepare and get into your belly! It is satisfying and the taste is quite mild, taking on the flavors of what you add it too (sauce, butter etc.).


On occassion, if I am low on carbs for the day I will add 1/4 to 1/2 cup of rice and find that ketosis isn't bothered in my system by this, but I do not eat rice often nonetheless. If you are new to keto eating I would not recommend this, and if and when you do decide, make sure that you are very strict with your macros. It simply isn't worth reliving the keto flu and re-reboot of your body!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

©2019 by Yummy Mummy's Keto Kravings. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page